Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Monday, April 28, 2014

Dance of the Hummingbird

                                          flick

              flip

                                   zap

                                                        zip

         dive

                          dip

                                            stop
                                            sip

Friday, April 25, 2014

Icebox Issues

the thunder of
the refrigerator
melts 
my sleep 
until I am 
a puddle 
of
exhaustion

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Pocket Poem

A poem in my pocket
is trying to get out -
pushing against my seam,
it wants to shout:

"I'm here,
hear me rhyme,
free me from
this linty grime!"

I take out my poem
and share it with you.
Check your pocket,
maybe you have one too?

Happy Poem in Your Pocket Day!!!

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Saturday, April 19, 2014

Monday, April 14, 2014

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Poetry Playground Haiku 3

The following poem was create by the Poetry Playground students at Sunrise Drive School:

Under the cactus
the lizard scurried through the sand
during the cool night.

Saturday, April 12, 2014

Mom's a Mover and a Shaker

Mom's a grump
when her rump is plump.

Now Mom jumps,
her muscles pump.

Exercise has trumped
Mom's plump rump!

Friday, April 11, 2014

Worry Wart

Mom's a major worrier,
she's a little too afraid.
She's constantly ready
with a million Band-aids.

I don't take risks -
well, not too many.
I didn't gulp a quarter,
it was only a penny.

When I broke my ankle,
it wasn't my fault.
I just used a curtain rod
to practice pole vault.

Mom's over-protectiveness
is beyond reason.
She's making me contemplate
committing family treason.

Now when I leave home,
I look like a fruit!
Mom's making me wear
a bubble-wrap suit.


Thursday, April 10, 2014

Poetry Playground Haiku 2

The following poem was created by the Poetry Playground students at Manzanita School:

Woodchips under the slide.
The ants scuttle through the sand
in afternoon heat.

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Poetry Playground Haiku 1

The following poem was created by the Poetry Playground students at Ventana Vista School:

On the rock garden
red ants are carrying food.
Sunny afternoon.

Tuesday, April 8, 2014

In Opposition

I say up,
you say down.
You say smile,
I say frown.

You say big,
I say small.
I say short,
you say tall.

You and I 
don't always agree,
but best friends 
we will always be.

Monday, April 7, 2014

Happy Gotcha Day, Colleen

Today's the day
we got you.
Picked you up
on your day two.

Wailing, crying,
cute as a could be.
Overnight we became
a family of three.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Saturday, April 5, 2014

Friday, April 4, 2014

Allergy Season

This time of year
I can't go near
the Palo Verde trees.

Bright yellow blossoms
don't attract possums,
instead swarms of bees.

Those blasted tree blooms
make my allergies boom -
all I can do is cough.

I try hard not to sneeze,
or drip when I wheeze.
I'm ready for the blooms to fall off.

Thursday, April 3, 2014

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Tuesday, April 1, 2014

April Fools!

Brother put a cockroach
On my dinner plate.
I got so scared
I couldn't see straight.

Then he gave me
An exploding pen.
With blue fingers
I practiced Zen.

Next I got soaked
From his squirting flower.
Instead of drying off,
I took a shower.

My brother makes me feel
Like such a fool -
*sniff* I cry.
*slurp* I drool.

Then I remember
Today's April 1st -
April Fool's Day,
For better or worse.