Monday, December 30, 2013

Unseasonably Warm Winter Days

Warm weather,
no sweater.

Play in the sun,
perfect for a run.

Wrong season,
spring teasin'.

Will it be cold later?
Global warming hater.

Sunday, December 29, 2013

Saturday, December 28, 2013

Thursday, December 26, 2013

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Cat and Mouse

'Twas the night before Christmas
and all through the house
you could hear the cat purring,
he had just eaten a mouse.

The mouse lounged lazily
in the fat cat's belly
contemplating his fate,
which was rather smelly.

"This situation's no good,
I don't want to be here.
If I don't get out soon
I'll miss Christmas this year."

The mouse got on his four paws.
He swayed and he wiggled.
The more the mouse danced,
the more the cat giggled.

Between purrs and giggles,
the cat was convulsing.
The mouse's dance moves
had cat's belly pulsing.

Finally the cat couldn't take it,
he gave a lurch and a gack.
Out shot the mouse,
who landed on his back.

Mouse picked himself up
and zipped through the door.
He was home for Christmas,
he couldn't ask for anything more.

The cat on the other hand
was unbelievably tired.
He slept through Christmas
and from mouse hunting he retired.

Monday, December 23, 2013

Saturday, December 21, 2013

New Dog, Old Trick

I am hungry,
but have to wait.
Feels like forever
since I ate.

How long you ask?
About an hour!
Need more than kibble -
got no willpower.

I nibble the couch,
the people yell.
Then suddenly
I smell THE smell.

A fresh rawhide!
They fell for my trick.
I eat furniture
and get a treat quick.

Friday, December 20, 2013

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Last Minute Shopping

I rush,
I scurry.
I shop,
I worry.

A want?
A need?
Something to wear,
something to read?

Pressure's on,
money's tight.
Over socks,
I saw a fight!

Seven days
until the Eve,
this store
I wanna leave.

Monday, December 16, 2013

Saturday, December 14, 2013

Who Am I?

I have eight legs,
all of them hairy.
Harmless to people,
but some think me scary.

I creep out at night,
crawling from my burrow.
I eat insects,
I'm very thorough.

My skeleton is
on the outside.
I molt when I grow,
folks think I've died.

Who am I?

Friday, December 13, 2013

Counting Sheep

I'm so tired,
I can not sleep.
Wide awake,
I count sheep.

One bah,
two baahhs,
three baaahhhs,
four...
Counting sheep
can be a bore.

I'm still tired,
I count once more,
until the sheep
are at the door.

One bah,
two baahhs,
three baaahhhs,
four...
Counting sheep
is such a chore.

My eyes droop,
my ears thrum.
Counting sheep
is getting dumb.

I want sleep,
I close my eyes.
I start to snooze
until...surprise!

One bah,
two baahhs,
three baaahhhs,
four...
I fall asleep
upon the floor.
zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Rain in the Woods

Drops plop,
puddles fill.
Frogs hop,
peepers trill.

Newts scoot
across the trail.
On leafy boats
fire ants sail.

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

If You Swim With Me

You'll see ship hulls
and pirate skulls
if you swim with me.

You'll gain mad skills
in eating krill
if you swim with me.

You'll learn to skyhop,
but not belly flop
if you swim with me.

You'll be preaching
the joys of breaching
if you swim with me.

You will shout,
"I have a spout!"
If you swim with me.

Sunday, December 8, 2013

Seasonal Closet Changes

tank tops
sleeveless shirts
sun dresses
flowered skirts

put up
put away
winter clothes
out today

sweats
sweatshirts
jeans
wool skirts

Friday, December 6, 2013

Thursday, December 5, 2013

Alternate Transportation

Driving when it's wet
makes me sweat.

Cars still jet,
but I won't fret.

I'll avoid the threat
by walking my pet.

Rain coat on, I'm set.
Exercise I get.

I'll even bet
this is the best day yet.

Wednesday, December 4, 2013

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

Tuesday Morning Quarterback

Whistles blow,
off sides.
Grunts and groans,
helmets collide.

Line of scrimmage,
running game.
Our team lost,
refs to blame.

Monday, December 2, 2013

Self Talk

The glowing green light
of the smoke alarm
is here to protect me
not to do me harm.

I tell myself this
every single night
to keep myself
from nightly fright.

Sunday, December 1, 2013