Monday, September 30, 2013

Sunday, September 29, 2013

Early Birds

tweet-tweet
squawk-flap
chirup-chirp
tap-tap-tap

early morning
avian symphony
a cacophony
playing just for me

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Friday, September 27, 2013

Must. Have. Coffee.

Window blinds tapped,
kept me awake.
Being "with it"
I'll have to fake.

"Want some coffee?"
I do today!
2 cups to think,
1 more to play.

Thursday, September 26, 2013

Thursday

Thursday.

A challenging day
just by its
placement
within the week.

I feel good to
make it past
Wednesday
- Hump Day -
 but I'm still not
yet to Friday
- the gateway to
the weekend.

Thursday.

Always landing
between
the middle and the end
of the week.

Every week.

I will try
to make it through
today.

Thursday.

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Wee Wednesday "Weader": Sword Master

I fire
and forge.
I form
a sword.

I hammer
hot steel.
The thumping
I feel.

I end
my day
with fun
sword play.


Gargantuan thank you to this week's "Weader", Tony, and his brother, Andy, for sharing their mad blacksmithing skills! Cool...or hot if you are standing in front of that oven!

Monday, September 23, 2013

Cool Air

Woke to
a chill,
a crispness,
goosebumps
I feel.

Weather change,
sun's angle shifts,
with Autumn
my spirits lift.

Friday, September 20, 2013

Wednesday, September 18, 2013

Wee Wednesday "Weader": Puppy Jump

What is that lump,
that blankety bump,
with a furry rump?
Peekaboo!
Puppy jump!

Puppy hugs and whisker kisses to this week's "Weader", Smidgey, for letting the world in on her blanket and cheese habit! (Special thanks to dog handler/poetry helper, Joe, for voicing the poem.) Woof!

Monday, September 16, 2013

Monday Morning Mishaps

Woke up late,
missed the bus.
Dad drove me
with a great fuss.

At school I see
I have no lunch.
Teacher gave me
carrots to munch.

Can't wait to say
goodbye to today,
then Monday will be
a week away.

Thursday, September 12, 2013

Blabber Mouth

When she 
let the cat out of the bag
the can of worms 
burst open
causing her to 
spill the beans.

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Wee Wednesday "Weader": Doll Friend

With bright eyes
and a button nose,
my doll and I
wear similar clothes.

My doll is my friend,
though she is a toy.
Playing with her
brings me much joy.

I whisper my secrets
or we drink tea.
My special doll
is perfect for me.


Epic thank you to this week's :Weader", Maureen, who truly is a "living doll"!

Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Sunday, September 8, 2013

Saturday, September 7, 2013

Friday, September 6, 2013

Cat-astrophe Limerick

There were two kittens who
Liked to sleep in my shoe.
Sidled toe to heel,
Not sure the appeal.
My foot caused a loud mew.

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Wee Wednesday "Weader": American Born Aussie

I was born in the U.S.,
But grew up in Oz.
I speak English,
But people pause.
They don't understand
What I've just said.
Their puzzled looks
I always dread.


Colossal thank you to this week's "Weader", Nathan, for being the American Born Aussie that he is with the COOL accent! G'day mate!

Monday, September 2, 2013

Happy Labor Day!

No school today,
We have a day to play,
All because it's Labor Day!
Who's Mr. Labor anyway?
And how'd he score this holiday?
I'm thankful either way...
A day off school is A-OK!
Hip-hip-hooray!